top of page

February 2024 Newsletter

New Zealand Championships

This is the team that will represent our Club at the NZ Rowing Championships at Lake

Karapiro, which runs from Tuesday 13 to Saturday 17 February 2024, and who were

farewelled by the Club at a Pot Luck Dinner on 7 February. We look forward to adding some

additional NZ champions to our honours boards!

Back Row: Robyn van Dijk; Messina Su’a; Achilles Paikea; Kynan Brewer; Wilf Allison; Jake

Newton; Lawrence Harkin; Eli Kuehne; Mila Graham; Maddeline Cox

Middle Row: Ruby Hoekstra; Ruby Bullock; Edie Franks

Lower Row: Jordan Hallett; Cristian Kiriona; Lauren Davies; Agatha Doggett; Nicky Maxim


Billy Webb Challenge 2024

A record total of 54 entries competed over the 6000-metre course this year, with Clifton

Rowing Clubs Liam Cox and Madison Neale respectively winning the Billy Webb Challenge

and the Philippa Baker-Hogan Male and Female categories.

With 30 total single scull entrants competing, young Aramoho Whanganui single sculler,

Bryn Morgan, secured the inaugural Mahe Drysdale Trophy which was presented for the

first time by Mahe Drysdale for the fastest Under 18 entrant.

Bryn had a prognostic score of 86.34% which was the best score of the fifteen Under 18

Entrants and as an Under 16-year competitor, this certainly augurs well for his future in the


Interestingly, Robyn van Dijk from our Club was second in the Under 18 Category with a

prognostic time of 84.84%

Bryn is pictured with NZ and Olympian legend Mahe Drysdale receiving his trophy.


North Island Championships 2024

An outstanding regatta for our young squad with 20 A Finals which yielded two Gold Medals

for our Novice Boys, five Silver Medals and one Bronze Medal – a wonderful effort against

the cream of the North Island rowing talent.

Our NZ Summer Squad rowers also distinguished themselves with Gold Medals being won

by Jackie Gowler and Kerri Williams in the W.Premier Coxless Four and Kerri demonstrating

her positive return after a break to the Premier grade, with a win in the W. Coxless Pair.

Georgia -Nugent O’Leary was in the winning W.Premier 4X and also competed in the

Womens Premier Single gaining 7 th pacing in the A Final, after winning her heat.

GOLD! Mens Novice Octuple: Back Row: Achilles Paikea; Kynan Brewer; Joseph Dudson;

James Laird; Logan Jobert; with Dave Dudley

Front Row: Jordan Hallett; Callum Heap; Cristian Kiriona with Lauren Davies (Cox)

(Photo of M. Novice 4X+)

GOLD! Mens Novice Coxed Quad: Adrian van Bussel with the crew- Cristian Kiriona; Achilles Paikea; Kynan Brewer; Jordan Hallett and Ella Wadey (Cox)

Jackie Gowler and Kerri Williams Selected For NZ Womens Coxless Four

Jackie and Kerri continue their remarkable journey wearing the NZ uniform in being selected

to compete at 2024 World Rowing Cup II at Lucerne 24-26 May. The crew also includes

Davina Waddy and Phoebe Spoors who are both affiliated with the Canterbury Rowing Club.

The crew will be coached by Tom Stannard.

The NZ Womens Coxless Four boat has already qualified for the Paris Olympics and this

World Cup Regatta will obviously be a significant step on ascertaining this new look crew is



RIP Neil Thomson

Neil Thomson passed away at Brisbane on 27 November 2023. Neil was a brother to the

late Lloyd Thomson who coxed the Aramoho Boating Club Mens Four to victory at Wairoa in

1955. The Thomson Family were well known Aramoho identities in the 1950’s, where the

father, Tommy (also a former Aramoho Boating Club Coxswain), was a fish and chip shop

proprietor. Neil visited our Club several years ago and made a substantial contribution

toward our Honours Boards. He was also an Associate AWRC Member and actively

supported our annual 100 Club. Our condolences are extended to Neil’s wife Judith and his

wider family.


Wedding of the Year

Great to see two of our former members “tying the knot” – Jaimee Bridger and Jack Pringle

dodged the downpours and had a lovely garden wedding at Jack’s parents house in

Aramoho on Saturday 20 January. Congratulations!


bottom of page