top of page

October 2021 Newsletter


Say kia ora to our new Committee!

The Club conducted its 35th Annual General Meeting on 22 September 2021, with 37 people in attendance.

This meeting was noteworthy as Bruce Osborne stood down as Club President, after 5 years at the helm. This was Bruce’s second term as Club President after he originally undertook up this role at Aramoho Whanganui Rowing Club following the amalgamation of the Aramoho and Wanganui Rowing Clubs in 1986.

We are indebted to the energy that Bruce and Diane have dedicated to the Club, particularly following the challenging years following the devastating 2015 Whanganui River Flood.

Bruce’s successor as President is the charismatic Tom Monaghan, who interestingly will also be undertaking his second term in the post.

Aside from Tom, other appointments made to the incoming committee were:

Patron: Allan Luff

Vice President: Kiersten Light

Secretary: Grader Howells

Treasurer: Belinda Sherman

Committee: Adrian van Bussel, Messina Su’a, Daniel McSweeney, Rebecca Ivory, Haley Emmett, Kit Croxford, Rylee Dudley, Luke Watts, Maddie Powers, Annie Pawson, Ally Bennett, Barbara Hammond, and Des Lock.

Disappointingly the position of Club Captain/Manager was not filled.

Bruce and Diane Osborne receiving recognition of their sterling service from newly appointed President Tom Monaghan.


It's time to fill in your membership forms

We're going digital! This year when you fill out your membership form, you can fill it out on our website. No more paper copies, unless you'd prefer it to do the old fashion way. We'll still have some on hand. Just get in contact with us.

Fill out your membership form today here:

** Click on the 'register today' button. Alternatively, you can go to the Membership Fees page on the website.

*** At the bottom of the form it'll ask you to sign it. Hold down your mouse cursor and sign away.

Membership fees can be found here:

Please remember to pay us on our Westpac account at 03-0791-0543270-00.


Coming up...

  • Saturday 16 October – Club Working Bee – All active members are asked to attend. Many hands will make quick work.

  • Saturday 23 October (Labour Weekend) – Opening Day & Mitchell Shield & Barbecue.

  • Saturday 30 October – NZ Rowing Masters Championships – Lake Ruataniwha

  • Friday 12 and Saturday 13 November. Our Club Olympians will be visiting – let's celebrate!!!!


Results: Winter series 6km

This fixture was reduced to 6km in recognition of the limited preparation competitors were able to undertake due to the Covid lockdowns.

Brocky and Trevor again took the honours in their Masters H Double, taking first place from 22 entries with a time of 25:25 securing a prognostic of 88.89%.


Results: Interprovincial regatta

The Aramoho Whanganui Rowing Club organised and conducted this event, to which North Island Associations were all invited to participate in over 12 events, including Eights, Quads and Fours for Male/Female Under 20 and Over 20 Squads.

Unfortunately, the Waikato contingent was obliged to cancel due to Covid restrictions, however, we were delighted to host large teams from Bay of Plenty and Wellington, with the latter winning the Graham Moran Memorial Trophy.

Your Club was represented by Luke Watts, Tom Monaghan, Zac Visser, Dan McSweeney, John Turner and Messina Su’a all featuring in the Whanganui entries.

Due to challenging water conditions, a decision was made to race upriver from Calvers Corner, finishing at the Collegiate Rowing Club. Despite modest entries, most races were very close with our judges needing to be on their game when adjudicating.

The afternoon concluded with a presentation and meal at our Lounge.

Given the recent Covid limitations and weather, our visitors were most complimentary for the opportunity to compete and for the efforts that were made in organising this fixture.

This was truly a great Club effort, and it was very positive to see the energy put into organising by Bruce, Des, Philippa, Barbara and their respective teams. Thank you to everyone who gave their time in preparation and assisting!


Results: Tonks small boat 6km race

The following day this annual event was conducted. Starting at AWRC and racing downstream, turning at the Treadwell Gordon Building before returning upriver and concluding on the usual finish line.

Again, Brocky and Trevor took the prognostic honours with 92.27%, racing their master’s H Double. At this stage, they will be the AWRC only entrants at the forthcoming NZ Masters Rowing Championships at the end of October on Lake Ruataniwha, and we wish them well in their quest to return with another haul of medals!

Also worthy of mention were young scullers Reeve Watson and Awen Emmett who achieved 3rd placing from 20 entrants.

In 4th place prognostically, and pictured below, was the AWRC Men's Quad of Luke Watts, Dan McSweeney, Tom Monaghan and Jordan Manville, who were the fastest crew overall with a time of 20:14.52.


Upcoming 100 club fundraiser

All tickets have now been allocated and the date for the Big Draw will be notified to ticket holders when final monies are received – we have about 10 payments to come.


Have a good photo we should share with others?

We are always on the hunt for photos. If you have one that you want to feature in an upcoming newsletter, send it to


bottom of page